[Skip to Content]

2017 ISACA Award Recipients

Learn more about the individual recipients. Download the 2017 ISACA Awards Booklet (PDF).


Global Achievement Awards

Michael Cangemi Award Best Book/Article Award
This award was instituted during the 1996-97 year to recognize individuals for major contributions to publications in the field of IS audit, control and/or security. 

Phillimon Zongo
“The Automation Conundrum” ISACA® Journal, volume 1, 2017.


Eugene M. Frank Award for Meritorious Performance
This award is named after ISACA’s first Chair and recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions to ISACA/ITGI. This award is for performance which far exceeds the norm and nominations are accepted only from a current board member or past Chair. The award is granted with input by the Chair and approved by two-thirds approval of the ISACA/ITGI BoD/T. 

Greg Grocholski, CISA
ISACA Board President 2012-2013

John Kuyers Award for Best Speaker/Conference Contributor
This award was instituted during the 1996-1997 year to recognize individuals for major contributions in the development of ISACA global conference(s) and/or outstanding speaking achievements.

Justine Bone
“For outstanding presentations at the 2016 CSX conferences and for helping raise awareness of the Connecting Women Leaders in Technology initiative and Cybersecurity Nexus Program.”

John W. Lainhart IV Common Body of Knowledge Award
This award is given to recognize individuals for major contributions to the development and enhancement of the common body of knowledge used by constituents of the Association.

Ian James Cooke, CISA, CRISC, CGEIT
“For contributions to the development and enhancement of ISACA publications and certification training modules.”

Harold Weiss Award for Outstanding Achievement
This award was instituted in 1985 to recognize individuals for dedication to the IT governance profession. It is for achievement that far exceeds the norm.

Tichaona Zororo, CISA, CRISC, CISM, CGEIT, , CIA, CRMA, COBIT 5 Assessor 
“For leadership in enhancing ISACA’s presence in South Africa and our global community and for promoting COBIT 5.”

Paul Williams Award for Inspirational Leadership
This award is given to an ISACA volunteer to recognize strategic leadership accomplishments on ISACA’s behalf. The recipient shall have contributed to ISACA over the course of several years and shall have far exceeded the norm in achieving strategic results and/or driving ISACA’s strategy forward. Nominees for the award can be nominated by members of the board or past Chairs.

“For strong volunteer leadership in expanding ISACA’s engagement with ISACA chapters as well as collaborating with other regional and global organizations.”

President’s Award
This award recipient is selected solely by the Chair each year and is presented for gratitude and dedication to service and leadership. 

Prof. Andre Pitkowski, CRISC, CGEIT
ISACA Director
Edward G. Schwartz, CISA, CISM
ISACA Director
Jeff M. Spivey, CRISC
ISACA Director